Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Something’s not right

Allie711
Casual Contributor

Boyfriend gone off medication

Hi, this is my first time posting on here and the first time I am reaching out for support. My partner suffers from some very traumatic childhood experiences and has never dealt with them. He doesn't want to talk to a professional about these experiences because he thinks they will think he is crazy and will put him back on medication. He has had many suicide attempts prior to our relationship. Since we have been together I have witnessed him in a state of psychosis a couple of times and it was awful. He believed that I was against him and that I was involved with people from his past who had hurt him. Some of the stories that he has told me sound very unbelievable and extremely hard for me to comprehend. I have listened to him and suggested that he get support from a professional, but he thinks that they won't believe him. He has been put in a psych ward a few times in his life, one of them only being about 6 months ago or a bit less than, after a psychosis episode that I sadly witnessed. There was no formal diagnosis that I am aware of, although he did mention something about thinking he may have bipolar. He was really good a while after he started his medication, and had been up until he recently stopped taking his medication about 2 months ago. He has been fighting bad thoughts in his head, hearing people say things to him, and has become extremely obsessive with religion,  reading the bible out aloud, and all day every day listening to Christian radio and preaching to me about Jesus. He even made me to go to church with him. It's seriously becoming too much for me to handle alone