Skip to main content
Forums Home
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Lochlyn
Contributor

Getting back to work?

Hi all, I'm new to this and only about 5 months ago accepted and opened up about my problems with anxiety and depression issues. I've had been off work for nearly a year after a mental break down which had blown my anxiety and depression out of control. After traveling and spending most days and nights sleeping, I believe it is time to get back to work. Im curious as to how some of you approach this? And did it help with your MI? Your input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you
18 REPLIES 18
Former-Member
Not applicable

Re: Getting back to work?

Take it slow @Lochlyn, maybe part time but definitely a not too stressful role. Manage your stress levels - this is most important because us who suffer anxiety are often disconnected from it in our body, the awareness, gotta be proactive (walking, antidrprrssants, relaxation exercises, nutritious diet.//).
I found going to TAFE or some other study course that required my physical presence, this was a good way to ease back into society. All the best. xox

Thanks @Former-Member. Unfortunately my role for work involves problem solving technical issues and is usually set at high risk environments. I've tried everything that you suggested that doesn't required for me to leave the house. Ok,.. walking it is lol thanks again

Hi @Lochlyn

I'm actually a HR Manager who has BPD.

First bit of advice unless you really feel you can trust them dont tell them your mental health issues.  I have seen this work against so many employees.  Yes they are not allowed to discriminate but I think we all know they just move around that and find another reason.