Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Welcome & getting started

steveaustin
Casual Contributor

Art and shutdown

Hello,

I'm new here. I am an artist, video creator, and last year I studied design for a few weeks, which made my mom proud, and then I dropped out, and spent 7 months living in New Zealand, drawing every day, mostly portraits.

I don't fully understand myself. But right now im in one of my deflated periods. Can't think of any ideas, can't make money, and my body feels very very tired.

I sometimes feel like I'm a liar, or a manipulator, when talking to people. I don't try to lie or manipulate, but for me its just this feeling, when I talk to others, that I'm always leaving something out.

The last two years have been difficult, with me attempting to live life on my own terms, and I have issues with conflict, or big ideas for work that don't come into fruition. 

I'm not sure what else to say, but I thought I'd start by giving a brief outline of where I'm at now. Hello to anyone reading this!

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Art and shutdown

I think part of the cycle is the inherent contradiction of all art.

Namely, all art is 100% about illusion and simultaneously 100% about truth.

Considering this, no wonder artists are always loosing and then finding their inspiration.

hey @steveaustin welcome to the forums, I'm TuxedoCat, one of the peer workers here. It's nice to e-meet you 😊 

I'm so sorry that you've having a bit of a tough time, feeling like there are no art ideas, no way to make money and you're so tired. I know for me, even one of those things can start to impact my mental health. And when you say "deflated period", do you mean it's happened before and is kind of a cycle?