Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Our stories

Gremmie
Casual Contributor

Lost in uncertainty

Hi Everyone,
I've never used this or any forum before, but I had a read through some other conversations, and thought I might find a bit if help here.  I'm in deep grief, anxiety and some confusion over my beautiful 16 year old daughter, who has had problems with mental illness for about 3 years now. 

It started with anxiety and some "melt downs' over things like clothes and never feeling right and 'good enough' in looks or clothing,  to regular self-harm when she felt bad.  She's had counselling with a psychologist, but didn't connect well with her.  Things progressed, and we were referred to a psychiatrist in the tradition of "Biological Psychiatry" with whom she developed a good relationship, and who my daughter feels really 'gets' her.  This psychiatrist changed her antidepressants, but I've never seen much improvement from any of the medications she's been on.  In January this year, my daugher attempted suicide.  After this, she was prescribed an antipsychotic, an antidepressant, mood stabiliser, and now recently more benzodiazepine.