Skip to main content
Illustration of people sitting and standing

New here?

Chat with other people who 'Get it'

with health professionals in the background to make sure everything is safe and supportive.

Register

Have an account?
Login

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Looking after ourselves

sunrise2
Casual Contributor

At A Loss

I am new to this but maybe somebody has experienced something similar.  I am an 81 year caring for my 16 year old granddaughter since the death of her parents 12 years ago.  She is suffering mental issues - depression, threatening suicide, self harming.  I find it hard to get her interested in anything.  Its getting difficult to get her to attend school and just wants to stay in her room.  I have tried to get her help and she is on prescribed medications which I make sure she takes daily.  I sometimes find the yelling and verbal abuse more than I can handle and its very cruel.  If I dare say I am feeling unwell or something she turns it back on me and says its always about me so I say nothing.  Being elderly I have health challenges of my own.  Thankfully she seems to control the physical abuse now.  I really am at a loss what to do any more.  I dont know how to handle her dramatic and manipulative behaviour,  I love her very much and have tried so hard to provide for her.  I just dont know what to do any more

7 REPLIES 7
Rhye
Senior Contributor

Re: At A Loss

Afternoon @sunrise2 and welcome to the forums 😊

It sounds like things have been really tough at home, and that you are under a fair amount of pressure caring for your granddaughter. I firstly just want to say that no matter how much we love and care for our family members, you should never have to experience verbal or physical abuse as a carer. You mention that your granddaughter seems to have the physical abuse under control for now, but I'd like to check-in with you and ensure that you feel safe?